Official ASME Group

Electronic & Photonic Packaging Division

Electronic and Photonic Packaging Division (EPPD) objectives are international cooperation, understanding, and promotion of efforts and disciplines in Microelectronics, Photonics, Microwave and...
See More
New Blog Post

Enter the date that this post should be published.

Are you sure?

Are you sure you want to delete this file? This action is irreversible.

News & Updates

  • InterPACK Achievement Award

    InterPack Achievement Award is given to a single individual once every year at the ASME InterPACK Conference.  Candidates should have demonstrated excellence and international recognition in the area of research and development related to electronic packaging, as well as service to the  technical community at large. The scientific and technical leadership is demonstrated by the refereed publications (quality and number), patents awarded, products developed, students advised, etc. candidates must also have a demonstrated leadership role in InterPACK over the years, such as  organizational leadership, track leadership, session chairing, paper presentations and reviews, and so forth. As a general guideline, scientific and technical contributions count for two-thirds of the evaluation score and service counts to one-third of the score.

    Past Winners Include:

    Year InterPACK Achievement Award Affiliation
    1999 Alan Kraus (Dedicated Conference) Naval Postgraduate School
    2001 Wataru Nakayama ThermTech International & Tokyo Institute of Technology
    2003 Richard Chu IBM Corporation
    2005 Not Awarded  
    2007 Avram Bar-Cohen University of Maryland
    2009 William Chen and Dereje Agonafer ASE and University of Texas at Arlington
    2011 Yogendra Joshi Georgia Institute of Technology
    2013 Y.C. Lee University of Colorado
    2015 Bahgat G. Sammakia Binghamton University
    2017 Ken Goodson Stanford University
    2018 Ravi Mahajan Intel
    2019 Abhijit Dasgupta University of Maryland
    Submissions for the 2020 award are being accepted through September 14. For more information: or contact EPPD Executive Committee Chair Amy Spencer Fleischer (