Official ASME Group

Manufacturing Engineering Division

Manufacturing Engineering Division (MED) is concerned with the knowledge base of manufacturing sciences and technology and its applications for improved production performance.
New Blog Post

Enter the date that this post should be published.

Are you sure?

Are you sure you want to delete this file? This action is irreversible.

News & Updates

  • The Third Annual David Dornfeld Manufacturing Vision Award and Blue Sky Competition

    Dear Colleagues,

    We are happy to announce the Third Annual David Dornfeld Manufacturing Vision Award and Blue Sky Competition. Funded by the National Science Foundation, the competition will be held during the 2019 SME North American Manufacturing Research Conference (NAMRC) and ASME Manufacturing Science and Engineering Conference (MSEC), June 10-14, 2019 in Erie, PA.

    The aim of this annual competition is to influence the future of manufacturing research and education in the United States through new visionary ideas of the future. Such visionary ideas are often described as “radical”, “outrageous”, “transformational”, “unconventional”, “convergent”, and “breakthrough”. Presentations should pose grand challenges to be addressed by pursuing the manufacturing research vision, describing the intersections between disparate disciplines necessary to advance that vision. Topical areas should extend beyond the scope of single investigator and show potential for transformative impact in areas of interest to federal agencies.

    It is likely that team efforts will be needed to formulate such ideas. Therefore, interdisciplinary collaborations are encouraged, including disciplines outside of engineering.

    Abstracts should be submitted by April 1, 2019, to Professor ZJ Pei at Each abstract should be up to one page in length, including the title. This one-page abstract should not include names of submitters and their affiliations. Such information should be included in the email.

    Attached please find the flyer, the past competition results, and the 2019 selection committee that is consisted of:

    • AFOSR: Sofi Bin-Salamon (Program Manager, Biophysics)
    • DARPA: Bradley Ringeisen (Deputy Director, Biological Technology Office)
    • DARPA: John A. Main (Program Manager, Defense Sciences Office)
    • DoD: A. Adele Ratcliff (Director, Manufacturing Resiliency & Assurance and Industrial Base Analysis & Sustainment)
    • DoE: Rob Ivester (Director, Advanced Manufacturing Office)
    • NASA: John Vickers (Principal Technologist)
    • NIST/AMNPO: Frank Gayle (Deputy Director, Office of Advanced Manufacturing)
    • AAAS/Science: Mahlet Mesfin (Deputy Director, Center for Science Diplomacy)
    • Boeing: Steve Walls (Technical Fellow, Production Engineering/Building Integration)
    • DEKA Research and Development: Kristy Pottol (Strategic Development)
    • GE: Dale Lombardo (Manufacturing Technology Manager, Structural Materials, GE Global Research Center)
    • NCDMM: Ralph Resnick (President and Executive Director)
    • Saint Gobain: Anand Tanikella (Vice President, R&D Abrasives Worldwide)


  • 2019 ASME/SME Student Manufacturing Design Competition

    Dear Colleagues,

    We invite submissions to the 2019 ASME/SME Student Manufacturing Design Competition from any undergraduate or graduate student who is registered in school full time through Spring 2019. Both individual and group projects are welcome, and individuals may participate in several entries as long as each entry is on a different subject.

    The submission deadline for the competition this year is March 4, 2019. Please find a flyer with more info attached.

    Please feel free to forward the flyer and info to faculty responsible for capstone design project courses or any student groups that you feel would be interested in submitting a project.

    We look forward to receiving excellent submissions!

    Best regards,

    Moneer Helu

  • CALL FOR NOMINATIONS – 2019 M. Eugene Merchant Manufacturing Medal; William T. Ennor Manufacturing Technology Award; Milton C. Shaw Manufacturing Research Medal; Chao and Trigger Young Manufacturing Engineer Award

    Dear MED Members,

    Season’s greetings from the MED Executive Committee!

    Listed below please find the hyperlinks of several Society-level and Division-level manufacturing awards and the corresponding Award Committee Chair with their contact information. The purpose of each award and the nomination instructions are detailed in the respective Award website. As it draws near the end of another year and reflecting on exceptional accomplishments from many of our members, we strongly encourage everyone to consider nominating individuals who are high-achieving and deserving of such recognitions. If you have questions about any particular award and the nomination process, please do not hesitate to contact the respective Award Committee Chair.

    DEADLINE of ALL nomination submissions: February 1, 2019

    The award recipients will be presented or announced in MSEC 2019 (June 10 - 14, 2019 at Erie, PA), hosted by Penn State Erie, The Behrend College.


    M. Eugene Merchant Manufacturing Medal of ASME/SME

    Committee Chair: Professor John W. Sutherland (765-496-9697,


    William T. Ennor Manufacturing Technology Award

    Committee Chair: Professor Yuebin Guo (205-348-2615,


    Milton C. Shaw Manufacturing Research Medal

    Committee Chair: Professor Yong Huang (352-392-5520,


    Chao and Trigger Young Manufacturing Engineer Award

    Committee Chair: Professor Yong Huang (352-392-5520,


    Best regards,

    Kevin Chou
    On behalf of MED Executive Committee