The Third Annual David Dornfeld Manufacturing Vision Award and Blue Sky Competition

Official ASME Group

Manufacturing Engineering Division

Manufacturing Engineering Division (MED) is concerned with the knowledge base of manufacturing sciences and technology and its applications for improved production performance.
Edit Post Mode

Enter the date that this post should be published.

Are you sure?

Are you sure you want to delete this file? This action is irreversible.

  • The Third Annual David Dornfeld Manufacturing Vision Award and Blue Sky Competition

    Dear Colleagues,

    We are happy to announce the Third Annual David Dornfeld Manufacturing Vision Award and Blue Sky Competition. Funded by the National Science Foundation, the competition will be held during the 2019 SME North American Manufacturing Research Conference (NAMRC) and ASME Manufacturing Science and Engineering Conference (MSEC), June 10-14, 2019 in Erie, PA.

    The aim of this annual competition is to influence the future of manufacturing research and education in the United States through new visionary ideas of the future. Such visionary ideas are often described as “radical”, “outrageous”, “transformational”, “unconventional”, “convergent”, and “breakthrough”. Presentations should pose grand challenges to be addressed by pursuing the manufacturing research vision, describing the intersections between disparate disciplines necessary to advance that vision. Topical areas should extend beyond the scope of single investigator and show potential for transformative impact in areas of interest to federal agencies.

    It is likely that team efforts will be needed to formulate such ideas. Therefore, interdisciplinary collaborations are encouraged, including disciplines outside of engineering.

    Abstracts should be submitted by April 1, 2019, to Professor ZJ Pei at Each abstract should be up to one page in length, including the title. This one-page abstract should not include names of submitters and their affiliations. Such information should be included in the email.

    Attached please find the flyer, the past competition results, and the 2019 selection committee that is consisted of:

    • AFOSR: Sofi Bin-Salamon (Program Manager, Biophysics)
    • DARPA: Bradley Ringeisen (Deputy Director, Biological Technology Office)
    • DARPA: John A. Main (Program Manager, Defense Sciences Office)
    • DoD: A. Adele Ratcliff (Director, Manufacturing Resiliency & Assurance and Industrial Base Analysis & Sustainment)
    • DoE: Rob Ivester (Director, Advanced Manufacturing Office)
    • NASA: John Vickers (Principal Technologist)
    • NIST/AMNPO: Frank Gayle (Deputy Director, Office of Advanced Manufacturing)
    • AAAS/Science: Mahlet Mesfin (Deputy Director, Center for Science Diplomacy)
    • Boeing: Steve Walls (Technical Fellow, Production Engineering/Building Integration)
    • DEKA Research and Development: Kristy Pottol (Strategic Development)
    • GE: Dale Lombardo (Manufacturing Technology Manager, Structural Materials, GE Global Research Center)
    • NCDMM: Ralph Resnick (President and Executive Director)
    • Saint Gobain: Anand Tanikella (Vice President, R&D Abrasives Worldwide)


Please log in to comment

Comments (0)

Your comment has been posted.   Close
Thank you, your comment requires moderation so it may take a while to appear.   Close
Your avatar