ASME 2020 IMECE – Manufacturing Policy Forum: SPECIAL EVENT

Official ASME Group

Manufacturing Engineering Division

Manufacturing Engineering Division (MED) is concerned with the knowledge base of manufacturing sciences and technology and its applications for improved production performance.
Edit Post Mode

Enter the date that this post should be published.

Are you sure?

Are you sure you want to delete this file? This action is irreversible.

  • ASME 2020 IMECE – Manufacturing Policy Forum: SPECIAL EVENT

    ….An ASME Manufacturing Engineering Division (MED) Centennial Celebration Event

    Date:  Wednesday, November 18, 2020

    Time:  6:00pm-8:00pm (Eastern Time)

    Description:  This forum is being hosted by the IMECE/Advanced Manufacturing Track and co-sponsored by Manufacturing Engineering Division (MED) and ASME Manufacturing Public Policy Task Force (MPPTF) to bring awareness of ASME’s role in U.S. Manufacturing Public Policy and the opportunities for ASME volunteers to make an impact.  This panel will highlight ASME positions on various manufacturing public policy issues, and their importance to ASME members.  Panelists will also share their experiences serving as Executive Branch and Congressional Fellows and how it impacted their careers and the Nation.


    Tom Kurfess : ORNL – Chief Mfg Officer; 2012 ASME Foundation Swanson Fellow at the Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP)


    Asha Balakrishnan:  Science and Technology Policy Institute (STPI), Research Staff Member; 2019-2020 ASME Congressional Fellow – Subcommittee on Space & Aeronautics Committee on Science, Space, and Technology

    Andy Bicos: Boeing – Retired;  2016-2017 ASME Congressional Fellow - Office of U.S. Congressman Tom Reed

    Connie Lausten, P.E.:  ASME Committee on Government Relations, Chair and 2000 ASME Congressional Fellow

    Marc Santos: Isle Utilities; 2019 ASME Congressional Fellow – Office of U.S. Senator Chris Coons 

    Steven Schmid: Manufacturing Public Policy Task Force (MPPTF), Chair; 2012 ASME Foundation Swanson Fellow – Advanced Manufacturing National Program Office (AMNPO), NIST


    Shawn Moylan: NIST; 2017-2018 ASME Congressional Fellow – Office of U.S. Senator Gary Peters 

    Gloria Wiens: Manufacturing Engineering Division (MED) Centennial Planning Committee, Chair; 2012-2015 ASME Foundation Swanson Fellow – Advanced Manufacturing National Program Office (AMNPO), NIST

     To Register: 


    Please note that this $0.00 registration does NOT give you access to the IMECE technical sessions, but you will have a limited access on Day 1 (November 16th) to listen to the opening keynote address and visit the virtual Exhibit Hall.

     ALL REGISTRANTS will receive an email with instructions on how to download the CrowdCompass Event App.  This app can be downloaded onto your desktop or smart phone and will give you access to the special events.  Emails will start to go out next week to all registrants.


     Questions? Contact Barbara Zlatnik at ASME (

Please log in to comment

Comments (0)

Your comment has been posted.   Close
Thank you, your comment requires moderation so it may take a while to appear.   Close
Your avatar