Election Information - April 17th, 2019, at UW Madison

Official ASME Group

Milwaukee Section

A century old, the Milwaukee Section has grown to encompass the southern and eastern reaches of Wisconsin. On offer are open discussions, lively activities, and support for industry and academia...
See More
Edit Post Mode

Enter the date that this post should be published.

Are you sure?

Are you sure you want to delete this file? This action is irreversible.

  • Election Information - April 17th, 2019, at UW Madison

    2019-2020 Group Leadership Team (GLT) Nominations

     The Group Leadership Team (GLT) of the Milwaukee Section of ASME will consist of eight (8) “voting” members:  chair, vice-chair, secretary, treasurer, group page administrator, and three (3) advisors.  As required by ASME, we must elect all positions each year.  We learned ~1 year ago that each ASME section’s GLT is recommended to consist of only 7 “voting” members.  With this goal, this past year we had 9 and will be electing 8 this year, to reach our 7 next year.  We are also electing two non-voting positions on the GLT:  seminar chair and past-chair.

    The Nominating Committee, consisting of Ken Derra, Joe Derra, and Bob Stachowicz, propose the following ASME members be elected to the following Milwaukee Section Group Leadership Team positions.

    Chair (Voting):  Douglas Kiesling

    Douglas currently serves as Treasurer.  He has a Bachelor of Science in Applied Mathematics and a Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering.  He currently works for Innio Waukesha Engines.  In 2009, he host-chaired the Spring Conference for the Internal Combustion Engine Division of ASME at Waukesha Engine.

    Vice-Chair (Voting):  Scott Kramer

    Scott currently serves as Vice-Chair.  He received a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering in 1984 from Northwestern University and a Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering in 1992 from UWM.  Scott has been employed by Milwaukee Electric Tool, since 1993, and currently leads and manages many of the lithium ion battery projects.

    Secretary (Voting):  Larry Miley

    Larry currently serves as Advisor.  He has been an active member of ASME since 1986 beginning at Clemson University, where he holds a BSME.  He also has earned a MBA from Marquette University.  He has worked at several diverse companies over the years, currently at Harley-Davidson Motor Co.  His career has included involvement in testing, manufacturing, supplier management, and information systems.  He is an avid motorsports enthusiast.

    Treasurer (Voting):  Chris Nelson

    Chris currently serves as Advisor.  He received a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from Western Michigan University in 1996.  Upon graduation, he worked at Ricardo, eventually becoming the Analysis Department Manager.  In 2008, Chris joined GE Waukesha Gas Engines, now Innio,  where he currently is employed.  He has been an active member of our section. 

    Group Page Administrator (Voting):  Allen Perkins

    Allen currently serves as the GPA.  After leaving the Navy in 1972, he joined his father’s business, Perkins Engineering Co.  He has held a PE since 1977, is still running the company, and considers himself semi-retired.

    Advisor (Voting):  Liam Coen

    Liam currently serves as Secretary.  He is a Lead Engineer at Innio Waukesha Gas Engines, and presently a member of the American Gear Manufacturers Association (AGMA) Materials and Metallurgy Committee.

    Advisor (Voting):  Mohammad Mahinfalah

    Mohammad is currently an advisor.  Since receiving his PhD in Engineering Mechanics in 1988 from Iowa State University, he has been involved in ASME and has a long list of accomplishment, including student section advisor, being named Fellow in 2011, and is a member of the Group Engagement Committee.  Mohammad currently is professor of mechanical engineering at MSOE.

    Advisor (Voting):  Joe Pechstein

    Joe is new to the GLT.  He recently graduated from MSOE in 2018 with a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering.  He is currently employed at Milwaukee Electric Tool in the new product development group.  His hobbies include working on his motorcycle, hunting, and spending time outdoors.

    Past Chair (Non-Voting):  Bryan Eskra

    Bryan currently serves as Chair.  He received a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering, emphasizing Energy Conversion, from UWM in 1970.  He is a registered Professional Engineer in Wisconsin.  Bryan is also a Life Member of ASME.  He is retired from Power Engineers Collaborative, LLC, of which he is a founding partner.  He currently works part-time for Juhl Energy, Inc. in CHP project development.

    Seminar Chair (Non-Voting):  Subha Kumpaty

    Subha currently serves as Seminar Chair.  Since 1997, he has taught at MSOE and currently is a professor of mechanical engineering and the program director of the Master of Science in Engineering program.

    Please attend on April 17th and show your support for both the ASME Milwaukee and our Student Sections.  Thank you.

Please log in to comment

Comments (0)

Your comment has been posted.   Close
Thank you, your comment requires moderation so it may take a while to appear.   Close
Your avatar