Official ASME Group

Milwaukee Section

A century old, the Milwaukee Section has grown to encompass the southern and eastern reaches of Wisconsin. On offer are open discussions, lively activities, and support for industry and academia...
See More
New Blog Post

Enter the date that this post should be published.

Are you sure?

Are you sure you want to delete this file? This action is irreversible.

News & Updates

  • Official Results from Online Election Held May 9 thru May 21, 2020

    Constant Contact was used again this year to conduct a survey of the ASME Milwaukee Section membership. Membership was asked to vote for a unanimous ballot for the nominees to the 10 positions on the SLT (Section Leadership Team) for the section program year July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022. The Nominating Committee of the Milwaukee Section conducted candidate considerations to fill the 10 SLT positions (both voting and non-voting) to arrive at this slate of nominees. In lieu of the recent COVID-19 pandemic along with state (and ASME) imposed gathering restrictions to conduct this business in-person, the GLT moved, seconded, and approved this slate to be taken to the section membership for a direct vote.

    Voting Results:

     Respondents: 30

    “Yes” votes: 30

    “No” votes: 0

    Again, congratulations to the following who were elected to the SLT!

    Chair (Voting): Scott Kramer

    Vice-Chair (Voting): Larry Miley

    Secretary (Voting): Phil Vincent

    Treasurer (Voting): Chris Nelson

    Group Page Administrator (Voting): Allen Perkins

    Advisor (Voting): Bruce Weiss

    Advisor (Voting): Joe Pechstein

    Past Chair (Non-Voting): Bryan Eskra

    Seminar Chair (Non-Voting): Subha Kumpaty

    Advisor (Non-Voting): Frank Mueller

    Respectfully submitted by...

    Ken Derra

    Chair – Nominating Committee

  • Joseph Derra receives Dedicated Service Award

    On May 26, 2021, at the start of our annual planning meeting, Mohammad Mahinfalah announced that Joseph Derra had received the ASME Service Award for 2021.  As Joe has served our chapter for over 51 years, all of us at the Milwaukee Chapter congratulate him on this well-earned achievement.  Although the meeting was virtual, the sound of applause could be heard as all the microphones were unmuted.

    For background, the ASME Board of Governors approved the establishment of the ASME Service Award (DSA) in 1983. It honors unusual dedicated voluntary service to the Society marked by outstanding performance, demonstrated effective leadership, prolonged and committed service, devotion, enthusiasm and faithfulness. The award may be presented to selected individuals who have served the Society for at least ten years in one or more of the following areas: Standards and Certification; Public Affairs & Outreach; Technical Events and Content; Student & Early Career Development; Board of Governors; ASME Foundation; and The ASME Auxiliary, Inc.

    Joe, you certainly embody all the above.  Congratulations on this honor.

    ASME Milwaukee

  • Charles T. Main Award - 2021

    Samantha Hoover has been front and center at ASME Milwaukee’s “Student Night” functions for a number of years.  As a student at MSOE, she has kept our members well informed regarding student chapter activities.  It is with great pleasure that we salute Samantha on her winning the 2021 Charles T Main Award.

    The Charles T. Main Student Leadership Award recognizes current undergraduate ASME Student Members whose leadership and service qualities have contributed for a period of at least one year: to the programs and operations of a Student Section of the Society; to enhancing student activities within his/her department; to other related activities and services related to mechanical engineering students at his/her institution; the engineering profession and ASME.

    Congratulations Samantha!